Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Home > News > Three Opposition Kingpins from Narok Defect to Jubilee

Three Opposition Kingpins from Narok Defect to Jubilee

Defecting to Jubilee

President, Uhuru Kenyatta has received a boost ahead of the repeat of Kenya’s presidential elections on October 26th following the defection of three opposition kingpins from Narok to Jubilee. The defectors include Tiampati Ole Musuni, Rebecca Tonkei and Alfred Keriolale, all from the Orange Democratic Movement, a member of National Super Alliance-NASA.

Uhuru received the trio together with a huge delegation of their supporters at Nairobi State House on Monday. Ole Musuni contested for the Narok position and lost to Samuel Ole Tunai, the Jubilee candidates.

Tonkei contested for the woman MP seat while Keriolale narrowly lost the Narok East MP seat in the August 8 polls. In his welcome speech, president Kenyatta said he was pleased that the leaders have decided to abandon personal ambition and work together for the benefit of the electorate.

“What is important to me is that now Narok leaders who were political rivals have decided to put politics aside and in a very mature manner join hands and work together for the benefit of the electorate,” President Kenyatta said.

Adding that, “This proves that their main aim was not to get positions to advance their personal interests but to work for the welfare of the people of Narok.” He stressed the importance of unity, saying it is sure way of accelerating development in Narok County as well as across the country.

“Politics is a competition but not enmity and after a political contest, leaders should be able to work together to serve Kenyans,” the President said.

The three former opposition leaders assured President Kenyatta that they will vigorously mobilise votes to ensure he wins with a bigger margin in the fresh elections in October. Governor Tunai said with the three leaders joining Jubilee, Narok County is now firmly under the ruling party fold and President Kenyatta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *